Bullshit Philosophy

Half-assed political and religious commentary from a cynical left-winger

Request for comment

Posted by Kevin on March 17, 2009

So, I’m curious as to whether anyone uses the widget on the left sidebar for my Facebook posted items. I use it to post links to recommended articles without cluttering up the blog. In addition, there have been points in time where I’ve done more writing in the comments section for posted items than I have here (something I’m trying to remedy).

I know you have to be on Facebook for it to work, but I don’t know whether or not you have to be my friend, which is one of the reasons I’m posting this. Can anyone use it, and if so, does anyone use it? Is there a better mechanism I could be using for the sharing of links?

2 Responses to “Request for comment”

  1. Hi, RRS feed subscribed reader of yours responding to your request.

    I can’t say I have ever used your facebook RRS feed widget before, but I might read the posted items more often if you’re commenting in them constantly (what can I say, I enjoy your blog).

    I clicked on the facebook item while signed into my throwaway facebook account (don’t really have a serious one), and it just takes me to “My Friends links”, so I assume I have to be your friend to really utilise it.

    I’m unaware of a better substitute for such a function, sorry.

  2. Kevin said

    Thanks for looking into that for me. It’s too bad that it only works for friends; I guess there’s not much point in keeping it there.

    And you’re not missing much in terms of my comments – when I said that I write more in the comments to posted items than I do here, that’s not saying much considering how little I post here. Usually I just use that space to post an excerpt from the article.

    I suppose it wouldn’t kill me to make a short post here about an article on which I have something to add, so hopefully the fact that you couldn’t access the posted items won’t be a problem in the future. I’ve already sort of started doing that: I ended up working a comment I wrote on Obama’s Iraq “withdrawal” plan into the post before this one.

Leave a Reply

 
